Joy of LOVE Day 13: Routines {joy of love}

With two children aged two and under, routines are essential to my mental well-being.  Every day I know that A will wake up between 6:45 and 7:15 a.m. (unless I was able to wear her out really good the day before).  She will read to herself for about 10 minutes, get out of bed, and talk to S until she wakes up.  If talking doesn’t work, A climbs into the crib to begin undressing S; this will definitely wake her up.  S cries, A climbs out of the crib and yells at her to be quiet and then yells for me.  I change both girls diapers, get them dressed, and hold S while I make A’s breakfast (milk, Cheerios, and egg).  A climbs into her booster seat and straps herself in.  While A eats breakfast, I let Molly outside, put food in her bowl, and get S’s breakfast ready (baby cereal, 1/2 jar of fruit, 1/2 jar of veg, 1/3-1/2 jar of meat and maybe a few “baby snacks” if she’s good). I let Molly inside, feed S, make A a smoothie, clean up, let both girls play with their toys, and try to eat my own breakfast (by that time, it’s almost 10 a.m.).
It’s imperative to have a smooth breakfast routine.  One wrong thing can set off hysterics.
My routine with the girls lasts until my husband comes home from work…then there’s two of us, so the routine isn’t as essential, until bedtime.  A has to get her teeth brushed, her diaper changed, and two (possibly three) stories read to her before she will wind down and go to sleep (between 7 and 7:40 p.m.).  S gets her (two) teeth brushed, her diaper changed, and a paci in her mouth before being tucked into her sleeping bag (between 7:15 and 7:45 p.m.).  On a good night, we can get them in bed and asleep by 7.
I chose to document S’s food routines because she keeps getting bigger and bigger, and her eating habits are slowly evolving from baby food to real food.  She has been trying to eat Cheerios, and she successfully feeds herself blueberries and bananas.  She’s almost 10 months old, so the baby food stage is almost done with….my baby’s growing up!! : (

♥ Victoria
This entry was posted in Photography, {joy of love}, {my life} and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

